7 Steps to fix unopened files or folders

How to fix unopened files or folders in 7 steps

How to fix unopened files or folders in 7 steps

Some of my important files in external drive were unreadable. Corrupted! Some of my folders couldn’t be opened. This is a disaster, since I always use external drives as my back up of my works in laptop.

I don’t trust DVD as a back up. First, because it’s not flexible, you barely modify any file after burned them into that disc. Second, because there is no guarantee of durability after years.

I don’t like to back up all my things to some online storage either, because that means I must upload terabytes files to the server. It would be exhausting. Wait, terabytes? No way, your free account is limited to just few gigabytes. If you want more, you must pay monthly to Google Drive, Dropbox, One Drive, or any other service.

So, the option left is to fix the broken drive. Luckily, someone told me how to do that. Here I want to share you this, maybe not so techie, tips. You can try this too if you have same case with me (and you use Windows).

  1. Connect your external drive to your PC or laptop. Make sure you connect them into A/C power.
  2. If a dialog box shows up telling you to format your drive, click “No”. If you click “Yes”, that would be a farewell party for your files.
  3. Click “Start” (Windows logo in bottom), then “My Computer” or “Computer”. The new window about your drives specs, including your external drive, will pop up.
  4. Right-click your external drive icon, choose “Properties”.
  5. Properties box shows up. Click on tab “Tools”.
  6. Chose “Check Now” under the “Error Checking”. Check to “Automatically fix file system errors” and “Scan for and attempt recovery of bad sectors”. Then, click “Start” button. If the Windows tells can’t read the drive and you need to format it, click “No”.
  7. The Windows will give you a (long) report of action in minutes to hours (depends on your drive capacity).

Done! Try to open your troubled files or unopened folders now.

Is there a guarantee that all those files will recover? Absolutely no! I myself lost my important .Doc and .Jpg files. But, they aren’t many, far fewer than what it has recovered. So, I just call it “collateral damage” and move on 🙂

Note: This tips is applicable not only for external drives. You can try to internal drive too.

Leave a Reply

