Warning! Your Google account has quota

Each Google account has quota

Each Google account has quota

How to economize your bandwidth and space for your web? If it’s all about images and videos storage, I count on Google products. I always uploaded photos first on Google+, not directly on my blog (unless it’s a free blog like this), then hotlinked them with a simple img src html code.

But, a friend of mine told me that Google has a limit. “So, it’s not a very good solution,” he said.

A limit? A quota?

I browsed to find out. And, yes, every account in Google has 15 GB storage maximum, except Google Drive. It’s really not unlimited, even in the social network like Google+. Meanwhile in Facebook, I never heard such issue. You can upload and keep as many photos and videos as you want in Facebook. Too bad, Google is not like that.

  • Google Drive stores your files up to 1 TB each. Anything you create with Docs, Sheets, or Slides won’t use up any of your storage. The problem is, do you work the documents directly on Google? Me, no. I worked it mostly offline, then uploaded it.
  • Google Mail. Messages and attachments you’ve sent and received in Gmail use your storage. This is inevitable, especially when your email is active and frequently sends or receives attachments.
  • Google Plus. Photos larger than 2048 x 2048 pixels use your storage. Everything smaller than that is free. So, if you can keep the photo you upload 2048 x 2048 or tinier, you’ll be okay.

Then, I checked my storage status in Google. I smiled seeing my account is still virgin. It means there are still 15 GB free! I think it’s because every photo I uploaded to Google+ never reached 2048 x 2048 pixels. And also, my Google account doesn’t use Gmail.

I then logged out. And logged in with another account. This is account, which I actively use Gmail. Then I went to my storage status. There said, I already used 3% of my 15 GB space quota. No wonder, I did many messages and attachment since 2009 with that email.

But I’m sure somehow that Google will always add the quota. I remember in 2009, the quota of Gmail is 2 GB only. And now it’s 15 GB 🙂 Though it’s shared with your Google+ storage.

The conclusion, I would keep economize my bandwidth and host with Google Plus. As long as I don’t upload big photos, using my Google+ then hotlink from it is superefficient and won’t take my 15 GB quota. Trust me.

Leave a Reply

